NewDEAL Celebrates Four Years Promoting Pro-Growth Progressive Leaders and Ideas; Honorary Co-Chairs Governor Markell and Senator Warner Announce 19 New NewDEAL Leaders and Honorary Vice Chairs

News Category: News Posts

[av_textblock size='' font_color='' color='' id='' custom_class='' av-medium-font-size='' av-small-font-size='' av-mini-font-size='' av_uid='av-k6q8yhju' admin_preview_bg='']

For Immediate Release:
March 25, 2015

This week, as the NewDEAL celebrates four years of promoting pro-growth progressive leaders and ideas, NewDEAL Honorary Co-Chairs Governor Jack Markell (DE) and U.S. Senator Mark Warner (VA) announced today that nineteen rising elected officials from across the country have been selected as the next group of NewDEAL Leaders and that U.S. Senators Chris Coons (DE) and Gary Peters (MI) have been named as NewDEAL Honorary Vice Chairs.

The NewDEAL is a national network committed to highlighting pro-growth progressive state and local elected leaders from across the country with innovative ideas to build broadly-earned, sustainable economic growth. Since its launch in 2011, the network has grown from 10 leaders, to 140 state and local leaders from 44 states, and launched an interactive ideas portal highlighting dozens of state and local ideas to grow the economy, expand opportunity for all and make government work better.

“NewDEAL Leaders in communities across the country have proven that winning policy solutions can be both pro-growth and progressive. We are proud to highlight these leaders from across the country with innovative ideas to make government more efficient and effective,” said Senator Warner, Honorary Co-Chair of the NewDEAL.

“We believe that in order to address the challenges of the 21st century, we need to look for fresh ideas at the state and local level where leaders are developing and testing innovative solutions to help move our country forward,” said Governor Markell, Honorary Co-Chair of the NewDEAL.

In addition to Senators Coons and Peters, the NewDEAL is recognizing nineteen leaders who hail from diverse regions of the country:

Chicago Alderman Will Burns, Middletown (CT) Mayor Dan Drew, Nevada Senator Aaron Ford, Long Beach (CA) Mayor Robert Garcia, Tallahassee Mayor Andrew Gillum, California Senator Bob Hertzberg, Massachusetts Senator Eric Lesser, Rhode Island Treasurer Seth Magaziner, Connecticut Representative Cristin McCarthy Vahey, Maryland Delegate Andrew Platt, Washington Senator Kevin Ranker, Idaho Representative Ilana Rubel, San Antonio City Councilor Rey Saldana, Oakland Mayor Libby Schaaf, Albany Mayor Kathy Sheehan, North Carolina Senator Josh Stein, Arkansas Representative Clarke Tucker, Virginia Senator Jennifer Wexton, and Tennessee Senator Jeff Yarbro.

The NewDEAL is committed to helping pro-growth progressive leaders share their innovative ideas on its interactive website,  The public is encouraged to nominate other state and local elected leaders on the network’s website and stay connected as the NewDEAL highlights more pro-growth progressive ideas.