Next 12 NewDEAL Leaders Announced by Governor O’Malley and Senator Begich

News Category: News Posts

For Immediate Release
October 17, 2014

Today, Governor Martin O’Malley of Maryland and U.S. Senator Mark Begich of Alaska announced that twelve rising elected officials from across the country have been selected as the next group of NewDEAL Leaders for their work championing pro-growth progressive ideas.

The twelve latest NewDEAL leaders hail from diverse areas around the nation:

Utah State Representative Rebecca Chavez-Houck
Pennsylvania Auditor General Eugene DePasquale
Nevada Assemblymember Jason Frierson
Cook County (IL) Commissioner Bridget Gainer
Washington State Representative Cyrus Habib
Charlotte City Councilor David Howard
Arkansas State Senator David Johnson
Virginia State Delegate Rob Krupicka
Montgomery County (PA) Commissioner Josh Shapiro
Michigan State Representative Sam Singh
Texas State Representative Mike Villarreal
Kansas State Representative Brandon Whipple

“Senator Begich and I have joined the NewDEAL because we believe that we need to look for fresh ideas not just from the top down in Washington, DC, but also from the bottom up, where local leaders like these are developing and testing their ideas out on the ground,” said Governor O’Malley, Honorary Co-Chair of the NewDEAL.

“Too often in DC, pro-growth and progressive goals are seen as opposed to each other. But as former mayors, Governor O’Malley and I saw firsthand how solutions that were both pro-growth andprogressive could help to grow the economy in a way that expands opportunity for everyone. I am proud of the NewDEAL’s work to highlight these leaders from across the country with innovative ideas to build economic growth,” said Senator Begich, Honorary Co-Chair of the NewDEAL.

The NewDEAL is a national network committed to highlighting pro-growth progressive state and local elected leaders from across the country with innovative ideas to expand opportunity by making government smarter.

The network’s mission is to bring these leaders together to provide them with a national platform to share their innovative ideas as well as opportunities to network with other top political, policy, and private sector leaders. The public is encouraged to nominate other state and local elected leaders on the network’s website,, and to stay connected as the NewDEAL highlights more pro-growth progressive ideas.

The NewDEAL is led by Honorary Chairs Maryland Governor Martin O’Malley and U.S. Senator Mark Begich of Alaska, as well as our Honorary Regional Chairs: Colorado Governor John Hickenlooper, Newark Mayor Cory Booker, Columbus Mayor Michael Coleman, former Miami Mayor Manny Diaz, and Houston Mayor Annise Parker.